On June 11, 2011 the Mercer County Radio Control Society held a 50th anniversary banquet. The club held its first meeting on March 3, 1961 and by June 23, 1961 was officially chartered by the AMA as charter number 422. Throughout the 60’s the club lost many flying sites and on June 13, 1969 obtained a permanent flying site in the Assunpink Wildlife Manage Area. The flying site was renamed Warren Kruse Field in Assunpink to honor Warren for his dedicated service to MCRCS. A 50 year history booklet was given to each of the 80 members and guests that attended the banquet.

Master of Ceremonies, Greg Lucidi, kicks off the the evening with a few club stories.Jim Meighan educates the members with a brief history of the club.
A display of vintage RC transmitters and receivers.Pictured left to right are Charter Members Forrest Miller, Fred Doldy, and James Meighan.
Pictured left to right are other members who joined the club during the 60’s:  Joe Raimondo, Forrest Miller, Fred Doldy, James Meighan, Bill Zentmayer, and Rick DeBastos. Missing from the photo was Dick Moloney.Club President, Keith Zimmerly (left) presents a plaque to former  President, Dave Babcock, in recognition of his many contributions to the club.
Sal Lucania calls the winners of the door prize raffle.

Back to Top